Surprise! Someone Was Looking

Recently, I attended one of my favorite annual events, the dynamic and always exciting, Massachusetts Conference For Women. I love this event! It’s a day to get energized, network, listen to some fabulous speakers, and re-connect with your personal and professional goals.

It was wonderful to spend a day on positive energy, in a new learning environment, and a place to redefine goals and milestones for 2017.

Googling

Sitting at my computer today, I’m wondering what to write about for this week’s blog. After a quick google search on my name, I found the usual listing of my activities:

  • Speaker and presenter at a conference on food systems and land rights.
  • Committee member for juvenile justice.
  • Adjunct teacher at a local community college.

Missing were my other activities as the eternal animal lover, worker bee, social entrepreneur, and the wearer of many hats.

Surprise: Most Popular

To my surprise, I found one of my scholarly journal articles listed on a website for Emergency and Disaster Management studies and another one on Food Security!

My 2015 article was listed in the top 10 most popular downloaded articles for November 2016!! Yes, I say surprised because often food policy and food systems are ignored in the conversation for long-term planning in government.

But I was also reminded that when I wrote the article, I found two reports from the Department of Homeland Security. These reports described food and food systems as a national infrastructure to be protected. Food is critical to our national security.

Journeying

When you attend conferences with so many dynamic speakers and successful women, it’s easy to think about what you’re not doing.

But that’s not the point – it’s not about comparing and measuring one life against another. It’s a time to remember that while we all struggle with highs and lows in our lives, it’s all part of the journey.

As they say, the universe will provide. When I found my scholarly article listed on the websites, I know the universe is talking to me: keep writing, challenging myself with new ideas, keep paying it forward.

You never know who’s looking…

Welcome to the Church of the Holy Cabbage. Lettuce pray.
~~~Author Unknown~~~

Best wishes,

Dr. Bessie

Author: Dr. Bessie DiDomenica

Food Policy Researcher • Public Policy Wonk • Sustainability Advocate • Academic Writer • Public Speaker • Teacher • Social Entrepreneur • Associate Editor

Leave a Reply

