Work-Life Balance: Riding a Cloud

Some Thoughts From Dr. Patti.

Finding balance in your life can seem impossible when life is so crazy. There is never enough time in a day. While writing my dissertation, I found it hard to balance, work, college, and family life. Learning to balance your projects and priorities are different for everyone. You have to find things that work for you.

Make quality time quality time. Even when we’re busy, we make time for eating, going to the bathroom, and sleeping. Yet, one of our most crucial needs like self-care for our mind, body, and spirit is often the first thing to be put on hold when our calendars fill up.

Spending five or ten minutes in nature can help you relax as well as meditating. When you are pressed for time, start small, a quick five-minute meditation nature session in morning and at night. These require little effort but offer big payoffs.

A Few Words From Dr. Bessie

I’ve often wondered about the ‘balance’ part of the work-life balance (WLB) idea. Balance means evenness, stasis or harmony. If you’re like me, the scales of your life tip toward long hours of work and few days of doing things you want to do. If you do have time, then you’re too tired and just want to enjoy any down time you have.

Sometimes it feels like work gets in the way of your life or vice versa. For example, I want to start swimming again. In my other life, I lived closed to a YMCA and got up at dawn to hit the pool early, usually the first one to jump in. Now I live farther away and pools are not easy to find. But I heard that exercising late in the day is great way to get a good night’s sleep. Now I’m thinking about a nice swim after a long day at work.

Maybe balance is wherever you find it. When I was in school, I worked full-time and had a family to care for. My balance was finding time every day to get outside and walk for 30 minutes. Getting outdoors worked for me, it was something I looked forward to as an escape from the daily activities of my other obligations.

The search for WLB is like trying to hitch a ride on a cloud: it’s real, you can see it but you can’t touch it. And WLB is hard to define, there are no simple answers.  Each path is different for each person.

Maybe WLB is when you are present in the moment, whatever you’re doing. Maybe it’s those moments when you feel calm and relaxed. And balance will change depending on where you are on your life. I recently found a new balance when I groom my cat. When I start to brush him, he rolls over, purrs and gets into his relaxed cat mood. He makes me feel in the moment.

Priorities create balance or imbalance in our lives. Work-life balance is a catch-22 and sometimes it just feels like hitching a ride on a cloud.

Peace begins with a smile.
~~~ Mother Teresa ~~~

Dr. Bessie and Dr. Patti

Author: Doctor Tales

Doctor Tales Blog

Leave a Reply

